Summer and the States

So my exams are over and the Summer is finally here. All I want to do now is sit outside with friends, drinking cider and listening to summer tunes, ride my bicycle along the beach and chill in my pyjamas in front of the TV with nothing better to do for hours on end. I feel I deserve it. But this year my usual Summer holiday is being cut short bya month due to the fact that I am flying off to the States to study until December. It’s a weird idea that I have been trying to get my head around since I decided I wanted to do it around 3 years ago. Especially since I will be over there during a presidential election when it’s American politics I wish to specialize in. The whole opportunity just blows my mind. Not only that, the emotions associated with it puzzle me too. One minute I’m really excited and want it to come tomorrow, the next minute I’m thinking ‘what the heck am I doing?’ when I’m currently leading a good life already on this side of the Atlantic. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to give up the opportunity of being able to do something I’ve been wanting for years, no matter how much it scares me. I would definitely regret it for the rest of my life if that were the case. It’s just the waiting around that is getting me. The more I think about it the more I worry and think about what could go wrong. Yet, when I’m at work, reading a book or undertaking some other task that requires my full focus, I completely forget about my upcoming little adventure. I guess that’s a motto to live by in every aspect of life. If ever worried, or in doubt, distract yourself from it for a while and when you come back to it, you’ll have a very different, perhaps much more calmer outlook on the issue at hand. Trust me, it works.

Leave a Reply

