Sometimes we just have to man up…

Well around 11 hours from now I will be embarking on one of the biggest ventures of my life so far. To fly to the US by myself and study there, surrounded by strangers, all by myself, for the next four months. Several times I have wondered what the blooming’ heck I’m doing as I have a pretty good life going on here in the UK. But then I think back to my 16 year old self, inspired by what happened in the 2008 Presidential elections and thinking how much I want to study it and be a part of it. It just happens that there’s another one this year – whilst I’m going to be over there.

It hasn’t entirely hit me what I’m about to do, yet sometimes if I think about it too much it terrifies me. But I have to do it. I would regret it for the rest of my life if I didn’t do it, knowing that I was given such an amazing opportunity. Sometimes we just have to man up and enjoy our lives.

1 Comment

  1. Ah, don’t be too scared! You can be sure of one thing: people in the US will love your accent–we LOVE Brittish accents 🙂 Be prepared for people to ask you to “just say something–anything!” and “teach us slang words!” And gosh, I applaud you for WANTING to come over to the US during an election year–now THAT takes a lot of guts since it can get pretty ugly 😉 But I hope the race lives up to your expectations 🙂 So good luck, and have fun!

Leave a Reply

