Differences

Initially, the idea of moving from somewhere like the UK to a place such as the US seems simple – they all speak English, eat the same foods, listen to the same music and read the same books. On a larger scale I am lucky to be living in a culture that is so similar to my own so that the culture shock I experience won’t be as drastic as it can have the potential to be. Although, there are a few small cultural differences which have reminded me I am no longer home.

For instance, the other night I was watching the olympics coverage on the communal TV downstairs and it was a much different experience than it had been back home – where the excitement of being the host nation influenced much of the coverage. It didn’t feel like they were taking place in my home country, but the American commentary made it feel like it was taking place somewhere else. I had no idea what the Brits were up to or how many medals we received since Tuesday! It just made me feel so disconnected from something I was really into this time last week.

Last night it got even more surreal – I watched Harry Potter (an incredibly British film) with an American audience. It was the last film of the series, the only one I hadn’t seen, but it was really interesting to watch it from a different perspective. Everyone laughed at bits that I wouldn’t have expected them to. I can’t think of any specific examples, but when one of the characters used that classic british sarcasm the Americans thought it was hilarious! It was great!

Leave a Reply

