Oh happy days

Ok, I know. I’m a day late. I promised I would upload a post every Thursday and it’s now Friday. Sorry if you constantly refreshing my blog yesterday waiting for the latest update in my adventures. You probably weren’t, but I would like to think someone was.

Today is the tenth day of 2014 and it’s already been a great year. I just feel happier. I’ve been listening to more of Jason Mraz (the musician whose songs can help me through my darkest days), keeping my room tidier than it normally is, sent an amazing present to my friend in Australia, I had a successful baking venture this week and I’ve been eating better. Minus the chocolate and coffee I’ve been shovelling down my throat to help me through each page of my dissertation. But I’m getting there. I’m finding some excellent ways to procrastinate too – did you know that it’s possible to get stuck in a window blind? Yeah, that happened. It’s also possible to get a rice cake wedged in the roof of your mouth. Twice. In one week. But these things always happen when I have a deadline to do. It seems to be the way my brain functions, by getting all the weirdness out of my system to be able to focus better.

I think I’m also happy knowing that this is my last semester at university. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve enjoyed very second of uni and I am definitely going to miss it, but with everything in life it has to come to an end. I just feel it’s time for some new adventures. Although I will be back here on several occasions next year as my boyfriend has a year of Uni left, so maybe this year won’t quite be goodbye to the city that helped me grow into an adult.

Anyway, I should probably continue eating the Bolognaise I just made (why do I always wear white when i know I’m having this for dinner?!). But before I go I just want to explain why there’s so much Jason Mraz all over this post. I’m not obsessed (though bordering on it), I’ve just kept remembering back to August 2012 when I saw him live, one of the happiest days of my life. The photo I’ve included is when he sang my favourite song and I cried – the first and only time I’ve ever cried from happiness. Heck, I’d still be there listening to him sing if he hadn’t gone home. But it keeps me going in the hope that I will experience that happiness again soon. That’s what 2014 should be about, keeping the things that make us happiest close to us everyday. I can tell this is going to be a good year.

Leave a Reply

