Executive

Finally, after much moaning and ranting to my loved ones, I can now say I’m employed! My title is ‘Marketing and Communications Executive’ and the salary is so much higher than I was expecting.

The past few weeks have been eye-opening. Not only have I gone into the job-search market with a better advantage than I had this time last year. But it was still a lengthy and vigorous process. For this most recent job, the interview process felt like an anonymous X Factor, with several different rounds and without knowing who you’re up against. The only difference this time – I wasn’t nervous. Anxiety has always played a huge part in my life and has often dictated the course my life has taken. However, this time, not only did I get a high-salary paying job, I also managed to fly down to London and have an interview at a very prestigious company, without once feeling a flutter of the butterflies. I don’t know what that means but I think I knew I was going to get something so didn’t put too much pressure on myself.

Last week I undertook an internship at a PR firm. Although it was great to see PR in action (as I had never really worked in the industry before), it opened my eyes to my situation. I had gone from working in an office where I was sending out mass emails to around 3000 people a week, to undertaking an internship in which I wasn’t allowed to publish a post I hadn’t even written on a website. Totally understood the reasons for it – I could’ve been anyone – but it hit me hard.

Hopefully things will become a lot brighter now that I am sorted on the job front.

Leave a Reply

