What is 2016?

The last time I updated this blog was the day before I started a new job. That place turned out to have an awful affect on me, both emotionally and mentally. Now, as I am writing this, I am on day 2 of my new job and it’s about a thousand miles closer to what I want to be doing than my former role.

The craziest thing is that it’s brought me back to the town I spent four years in whilst studying at university. Only this time, I have a car (so I don’t have to rely on a train timetable to find out when I can next go home) and I’ve had a bit more life experience. I know this town well and it’s not as scary this time around as it was when I first arrived here at the age of 17, a whole 6 years ago! But although I haven’t lived independently for over a year and a half I’m still settling in a lot better than I thought I would be.

I know it’s mid-February and all the previous year’s reflections are generally done by this point, but I haven’t really had a chance to properly reflect on the past year. 2015 was one of the worst years I’ve had. It started out with a new job in January that I would be made redundant from by May, followed by the breakup of a long-term relationship in February and the death of my beloved dog, Ben, in March. Then I lost my job in May and undertook a new one in June that was to make me completely stressed and depressed for the rest of the year.

2016, though still fresh, is already shaping up to be an absolute corker. We’re only 6 weeks in and I have a new job, a new home, a new car and a new man!

It’s all been a bit of a whirlwind but I’m impressed with myself and how far I’ve come these past few weeks.

Is it just a coincidence that 2016 is the year of the monkey, which is the same as the year I was born? Maybe that’s why it’s shaping up to be so good…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

